Hilde Aagaard, Azar Alsharif, Ole Martin Lund Bø, Jan Freuchen, Jason Havneraas, Cathrine Ruud
EXHIBITION From 16.03.2012 To 29.04.2013

The exhibition opening coincides with the announcement of the Photo Art Prize from BKH – Bildende Kunstneres Hjelpefond, which is awarded to the artist participating in the Spring Exhibition with the work considered most significant. Established in 2010, the Photo Art Prize is valued at NOK 100,000, making it one of the most prestigious art prizes in Norway. The winner will be announced at the exhibition opening on Thursday, March 15, at 19:00.

The Spring Exhibition, founded in 1976, is a juried group exhibition showcasing contemporary trends in camera-based art. The jury selects participating artists based on open submissions. Elected by the General Assembly of the Association of Independent Photographers, the 2012 jury consists of Sveinn Fannar Jóhannsson, Synne Tollerud Bull, and Behzad Farazollahi.

Sveinn Fannar Jóhannsson is an artist based in Oslo. Synne Tollerud Bull is an associate professor at the Oslo National Academy of the Arts and part of the artist duo Bull.Miletic, based in Oslo. Behzad Farazollahi runs Galleri Melk and works as an artist and musician. He lives in Oslo. For the spring 2012 exhibition, the jury collaborated with Fotogalleriet’s artistic director, Stephanie von Spreter.

Hilde Aagaard (born 1958 in Lillehammer, lives in Lillehammer), Azar Alsharif (born 1984 in Bushehr/Iran, lives in Bergen), Ole Martin Lund Bø (born 1973 in Stavanger, lives in Oslo), Jan Freuchen (born 1979 in Stavanger, lives in Oslo and Berlin), Jason Havneraas (born 1978 in Aberdeen/Scotland, lives in Trondheim) and Cathrine Ruud (born 1981 in Hommelvik, lives in Trondheim).